Pattaya gained its name from Phraya Tak who later became known as King Taksin the Great who marched along with his followers from Ayutthaya to Chanthaburi in 1767.

At that time and indeed up until the mid-1950’s the town largely paled into insignificance, dwarfed by the much larger Naklua to the north and Rayong to the south

Pattaya’s first big break came on 29th June 1959 when a reported five US Military transport trucks laden with GIs arrived in the city from their base in Nakhon Ratchasima.  The marines, on R&R, rented houses at the southern end of Pattaya beach from Phraya Sunthorn and stayed for around a week.



Visitors: 45,012